Where Eagles Dare

I’m currently taking a longish break away from home, at the moment I’m on Bainbridge Island which is one of the islands in the Puget Sound close to Seattle, WA.  It’s stunningly gorgeous here, a little gem of an island far removed from the usual mainland USA even though it is very close geographically. It’s a little sanctuary and in fact, I was told it was only used by the native Indian women and men did not set foot upon the island as it was deemed to be the place where women would go for their menstruation periods, and other feminine transformational & transitional  experiences.

Apparently the only time men would come upon this island was for their first sexual initiation which was a sacred rite conducted by elder woman for the young men.  How true any of this is I’m not sure, though I must say the island is certainly having an effect on me; I feel very held here and have deepened my appreciation and gratitude for our Mother and all the She represents to us.

Although this is not Eugene, he looks just like this.

As I’m writing this at 2pm on a sunny afternoon, there is a young male deer in the garden at the home I’m staying in; he seems quite unperturbed by my presence and I am able to go outside and just sit observing him.  I’ve called him Eugene in honour of an animal totem vision I had many years ago in which I was approached by a young fawn, and on asking his name, he replied Eugene – which I did think was rather unusual!

This is my second visit to Bainbridge Island, I was first here back in 2004 when I was over from Scotland visiting my beloved Isaac in July of that year. We were doing a road trip, meeting some dear friends of his that he wanted me to meet.  One of those was Sula.  We visited with her for a couple of days and on our departure day we were sitting having breakfast at the Streamliner diner in Winslow, the main town on Bainbridge.

Isaac and Sula were chatting away after we ate and I allowed myself to drift off into a lovely soft state of consciousness (this was easy as I was almost constantly in a state of love-bliss the whole time I was with Isaac that trip).  My eyes settled on a photograph picture on the wall of an American bald eagle. The photo was a close up of the bird’s head and shoulders, in semi profile.

This picture here is similar in energy though the pose is different – the one in the diner showed more of it’s shoulders and that gave me a different perspective. I’ve always loved eagles and hawks and whilst I see a fair number of hawks, my sightings of eagles have been limited to once or twice in Scotland where I’ve golden eagles, and also on a skiing trip in Nevada.  I once saw a sea eagle which was so amazing.

Awesome Bald Eagle!

The photo drew me in and I was totally absorbed… I began to feel that the bird was actually right there in the diner… the sounds of the diner and of Isaac and Sula chatting faded into the background and I began to experience myself as the bird. I could feel the haughty magnificence of the eagle, it’s detached attitude, or more like, it’s non-attached nature. I could feel the way my head moved on my neck, like stretching your head up and shoulders down and swiveling the head around.  I felt the eagle’s strength and its ability to fly so powerfully and see from such a great distance… again, I felt the non-attached sovereign regal like haughtiness; not from it feeling superior to anything but simply it’s non-emotional nature, and it was at all not a cruel feeling.  I felt I could see from such a high perspective, so totally non-attached, I felt such power course through my body and felt my eyes shoot out intense lightning like energy that was so piercing in it’s crystal clear clarity.

At the same time, I was also observing my experience and was totally amazed at it all, it was so fascinating to be able to experience even a little of what it was to be an eagle; I was literally awestruck and as I came out of the experience I was not able to share it with Isaac and Sula.  I had to take some time to myself in the ladies room where I shed some tears at the sheer beauty of this bird and thanked the Source of Creation for my experience, and for gifting us the diversity of Earth’s nature.

Eye of a young male

Regal attitude

I had another eagle experience later on that road-trip whilst we were driving down from spending a few hours up Mt Shasta in California.  I was on the look for chipmunks (my God, how cute are they – I want one) which we don’t have in the UK and so didn’t notice a golden eagle soaring above.  It swooped down and flew right over our car; Isaac saw it and said it was no more than a few feet above us.  Though I didn’t actually see it, I could feel it’s HUGE presence and looked up and over at Isaac and said in awe “What on earth was that?”

To this day, when I tune in or see eagles, I can still feel some of that ‘eagle-ness’ in my body and whilst I have always loved and been called by eagles and hawks, I am now even more enchanted whenever I get the gift of seeing them.

My understanding of what happened was that I ‘merged’ energetically with the eagle or spirit of eagle and that anyone can do this with practise and intention.  It happened spontaneously for me at that time and has not happened since with eagles, though it has with other life intelligence, such as flowers, or animals, insects etc. and this has happened in various differing ways, but always from a sense of total absorption and love.  I wonder also if there was a memory of shape-shifting in this experience and if you wish to know more about what I mean I invite you to read the next part of the story which happened as we traveled down the Interstate 5 to Oregon… see Animals; Merging and Shape Shifting ~ July 2004 ~ Pacific North West USA

Tune in… can you imagine how it feels to be her?

3 comments on “Where Eagles Dare

  1. caireen says:

    Great! more stories – look forward to them xx

    Like

  2. Philip Harris says:

    I received this via Isaac, Bless you both. Bringing back memories of my Vision quest with Denis Lynn on Canoe Island off Seattle in 1980’s. Our garden of Eden and its innocent inhabitants is a magic so may people have forgotten. Oh the eagles, and the wild Stag with huge antler formation who I met and communed with in the forest. You are such a ‘lucky’ lady Lynn.

    Like

  3. arion444 says:

    Excellent recounting of something I was witness to…thanks for sharing the vision and the visions! Isaac xxx

    Like

If you enjoyed this post, please comment.

